PRESTWICK GOLF CLUB
The history of Prestwick Golf Club stretches back over 160 years to a time when golf was in its infancy. In 1851, a group of 57 enthusiastic members, who met regularly at the Red Lion Inn, made the momentous decision to form a golf club purchasing two cottages opposite the tavern. The first cottage would become the members' clubhouse whilst the other was gifted to the club's Keeper of the Green, ball and clubmaker - Old Tom Morris. Together with a gold medal presented by the club's first captain (the Earl of Eglinton) for an annual competition still played for today, the legend of Prestwick was born. Old Tom had uprooted his wife Agnes and young son Tommy from St Andrews to layout the 12-hole course over the links. His unique design proved popular, and the club enjoyed a meteoric rise hosting the first Open Championship within 10 years of its formation. The last and 24th Open Championship at Prestwick was held 65 years later in 1925.
In 1864, Old Tom returned to St Andrews. His house was auctioned with the proceeds used to part-fund the construction of a new clubhouse on the present site in 1868. It cost å£758. A major re-development was completed in 1999 consolidating the clubhouse's prominent position overlooking the first tee and 18th green.
This is a ready to hang picture/photo frame that is perfect for wall decor, home or office decorations. It is a great gift for your relatives and friends on their Birthday, Wedding Anniversary, Christmas and other occasions.
This watercolour art print is hand crafted and digitally printed on acid free paper for light fastness. It will look good for a long time.
The wall art print will not degrade, it will not turn yellow with time. Presented on a stylish contemporary fibreboard frame complete with a paper 800gsm thickness mount.
Frame size: 23cm x 23cm
Frame depth: 4.5cm